Author: Kenny Lee

Course Update from Richard Stewart

Good morning All.

The Greens staff  are well into the prep for Captain’s Day so I thought I would give up an update because I know how important this day is to the Club.

Hopefully you have seen the new pit for trollies. We still have some work to do on it. Where you enter the bay needs stoned to avoid coming off the bay only to walk over that small piece of grass again.

The new Tee signs are going in the week starting 17th June. I’m going to do this with Green Keeper Chris.

Yardage markers are going to be replaced as well.

The banks to irrigation ditches with be flailed this week and I have ordered sleepers, hard core and a digger to finish the path at the 18th. Again we will have this done before Captain’s Day.

Thankfully the drainage the guys put in last year seems to be working but I was out yesterday and identified some paths that need work.  This isn’t a quick fix but the areas that we can fix we will. I planned a lot of work on these in the winter months this year.

Your feedback on the course is a real help to me and I thank the Club. Good or bad, I enjoy getting on the course and trying to make it better, so thank you all again.

We struggled this week a bit with cutting because of the heavy rain and as we fertilised 2 weeks ago so the grass was jumping out of the ground. We had to double cut the Greens and fairways 3 days in a row. Yesterday, when I left, the guys stayed on to try and get the rough cut again, but because of the rain, the machine was making a mess so they had to stop. The rough might be a bit long this weekend so I apologise for that.


Young Andrew Henderson is now a Greens Keeper. He held the position as a grounds person for many years and applied for a Greens Keeper position and was successful. We are all delighted for him. That leaves us down one man and we have another member of staff on long term sick so basically we are down 2 Greens staff. That said, Craig Fullerton is my new assistant Manager and he starts on the 17th June. I will then slot into the Green keeping duties for the 2 weeks leading to Captain’s Day to ensure the course is in the best condition it can be.

Craig, when he arrives will pick up the greens committee again and I will introduce him to you all when we have the BRS open night.


This week we received our new John Deere pro gator with sprayer attached, (a £45,000 pound piece of equipment). The equipment fleet is coming along nicely and we have provisionally secured 9 new machines to come before the end of the year. The fleet of new machines will enhance what we have and the newer modern machines will leave a better finish on the course.

Thank you all again. Everything you have suggested has really made the course stand out this year. We are getting great feedback and that’s down to you guys as well flagging up areas you want us to look at.

Now that we have a good standard we want to push on to make the course better and better.

Richard Stewart

Allen Park & Ballyearl Manager


Course Information from the Centre Manager

Morning All

The new trolley clean down point will be started tomorrow along with a fence at the side of the club.  I have ordered some trees to line the area between the car park and the practice putting area at back of the 18th green.   I have also ordered 40 trees to plant out the mound between the 10th Green and 18th Tee box.

I walked the course last week with the guys and made a list of areas that the Green keepers will focus on this year.

  1. Clearly identify staked Trees and remove old plastic guards.
  2. Gorse with be cut back to let it bloom
  3. Debranching will continue.
  4. Area at the back of the 15th Green that floods will have 80 tonnes of soil placed on it to change the landscape to let water drain away.
  5. Bunkers need sand and shaped.
  6. Complete course  will be sprayed for weed.

Lastly, we have secured a new John Deer sprayer  for the Greens and Tees.  This should arrive next week along with the new Tee box  signs.

Restaurant Update

The Yew Tree Cafe and Bistro

The new Restaurant at Allen Park is now open for business.

The Yew Tree Cafe and Bisto will be offering very competitive pricing for the meals that will be on offer and bar pricing will also be competitive with those of nearby premises.

This is a great facility for our golf club to have on their doorstep and I would ask all members to support John and his staff and help make the enterprise a success.  So please drop in and see what is on offer.  I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised.

Kenny Lee

(Hon. Secretary)

GUI Team Update

Sunday, 14th April 2018

Our All Ireland Four Ball and Fred Perry Trophy Irish Senior teams played the 2nd legs of their matches on Sunday (14th April) and despite very creditable performances over the two legs, both teams came up short.

The All Ireland Four Ball team claimed a 2.5 : 2.5 draw in the 2nd leg against Carrickfergus G.C. which meant a 5.5 : 4.5 lost over the two legs.

The Fred Perry team lost 4 : 1 to Belvoir G.C. and therefore lost the tie 6 : 4.

Both teams ran their opponents very close over the two legs and gave a good account of themselves and the Club.

Thanks to all,  team captains and players alike, for their efforts.

Kenny Lee

Restaurant Update

You will all be glad to hear that the Allen Park Restaurant franchise has been finally awarded and it is hoped that the restaurant will be fully opened for business by Easter.

The franchise has been awarded to a local businessman and I would ask all our members to give him their full support.

This facility is very important for the social well being of the Club and the Centre.

Kenny Lee

GUI Inter-Club Team Competitions

On Sunday 7th April two of our Club teams played in the 1st legs of their matchplay competitions at Allen Park.

The All Ireland Fourball team had a close match with Carrickfergus G.C. before losing 3-2.

The Fred Perry Trophy Irish Seniors team managed a 3-2 win in their 1st leg against Belvoir Park G.C.

Both teams play the 2nd leg of their matches next Sunday (14th April) with all to play for.

Best of luck to all concerned.

Kenny Lee

New Online Booking System – Meeting


To all members of Antrim Golf Club

Allen Park is moving forward with BRS tee off time booking system (Online Booking).                                                Ryan from BRS and the head of service would like to have a meeting with the Club before moving forward.   A meeting has been arranged for Monday 25th March at 6.30pm and all members are welcome.

To gauge numbers, it would be useful if members were to inform the Centre Reception if they are intending to attend the meeting.

Kenny Lee


Get Rules Ready for 2019

From GUI
Following on from the Rules of Golf Roadshows which took place recently and were well attended, we have prepared a short video to highlight the changes to the Rules of Golf from January 1st 2019.
The video can be watched at:
Resources from The R&A are available at
Please circulate these to your members to make them aware of the changes.
I draw your attention specifically to the requirements of CONGU for qualifying competition conditions – this is referenced in the video.
Queries from GUI clubs should go to your relevant GUI Provincial Branch Office.
Kind regards
Alan Kelly
Communications & Academy Manager
Golfing Union of Ireland

Restaurant Update

Please see the following message from Richard Stewart (Centre Manager)

Please can you convey to the Golf club members that the restaurant will no longer be available to use.  I will be looking at options for the restaurant early January 19.  I no longer have the capability to staff the restaurant area or allow access to the area. Unfortunately I have no further update or timeline for any decision on the restaurant.
I would ask that the Golf club members are made aware of this ASAP.

Many thanks.

Richard Stewart​
Allen Park & Ballyearl Manager
Scroll to top